Album Review: French Montana – Coke Boys 4

What’s this?

Off the back of his extremely successful debut album ‘Excuse My French’, American rapper French Montana returns with the mixtape Coke Boys 4 to kick off 2014 with style. The Coke Boys, which is made up of Montana, Chinx, Lil Durk, Flip and Cheeze, release the 4th instalment of the series strongly showcasing the labels talent and skills. On top of these artists, the mixtape also features Diddy, Wiz Khalifa, Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Jadakiss and Snoop Dogg.

And what’s it like?

As far as mixtapes go, this is a very strong look from The Coke Boys and of course in particular Montana. Following the success of his debut album, the next step was always going to be a tough one, and in Coke Boys 4 he further stamps his mark on the game as one of hip-hops rising stars. The South Bronx rapper delivers on all fronts, his lyrical flow is on point as usual and is backed up by smooth bass heavy beats that suit his style perfectly, thanks to the talent of producers BlickieBlaze FourKings and Harry Fraud. If you know French Montana then you will know what to expect, if you don’t, then expect a lot of money and drug influenced lyrics coincided with catchy choruses that will have you swaying from side to side. Montana is not everyones cup of tea and if you don’t liked his previous pieces of work then I wouldn’t recommend it, if you have then I would, as he continues with his usual style and angle that he has used before. He does show a little bit of diversity however, covering Lana Del Reys hit song Video Games on All For You and going across the pond to remix UK rap duos Krept & Konans ‘Don’t Waste My Time’. Other stand out tracks include ’88 Coupes’ Featuring Jadakiss, ‘God Body’ and ‘Money Bag.’ The mixtape also features various skits, which are cleverly intertwined in-between the tracks, taken from a number of different films.

What’s the tracklisting?

1. Coke Boyz (Feat. Meek Mill) [Prod. Black Metaphor, Rick Steel, Young Chop]

2. Millionaire Intro

3. Millionaire Thoughts Song [Prod. Davoughn]

4. Paranoid Remix (Feat. Rick Ross) [Prod. Young Chop]

5. 88 Coupes (Feat. Jadakiss) [Prod. Harry Fraud]

6. All For You (Feat. Lana Del Rey, Wiz Khalifa & Snoop Dogg) [Prod. Cool & Dre]

7. Ballin

8. God Body [Prod. Harry Fraud]

9. Worst Nightmare (Feat. Diddy) [Prod. Jahlil Beats]

10. Dont Waste My Time Remix

11. Money Bags Intro

12. Money Bag [Prod. The Renagades]

13. All We Know

14. Act Like That [Prod. BlickieBlaze FourKings]

15. Wit It [Prod. Mally Mall]

16. What You Call That [Prod. BlickieBlaze FourKings]

17. Money And Power [Prod. Pandemik, Lofey]

18. Soulful [Prod. Big Byrd]

Can you listen to anything now?

Free Download –

What’s the final verdict?

Montana won’t make you think and ponder on the worlds issues and problems, but what he will do is offer a smooth listening experience, as a listener not appreciating the lyrical content, but the beats and the flow instead. He delivers the mixtape in his usual flamboyant and boastful style, with all-in-all coming off very nicely in a well-rounded and put together piece of work. A great comeback to his album that will further elevate his name in the starlets of hip-hop.


First published: January 28, 2014


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s